It is no secret that I love shows that are supernaturally inclined without the horror aspect. I like the slow burn of the paranormal, things that are on the cusp of making me uncomfortable, but not something that is going to freak me out and take away the joy of the moment.
So Dead Boy Detectives was the perfect show for me following my Lockwood & Co obsession and I was really routing for it considering Lockwood was cancelled and so I could no longer get my fix. Then they cancelled Dead Boy Detectives and my heart broke so I very nearly didn't bother finishing it, but I was enjoying it too much not to.
Dead Boy Detectives follows Edwin and Charles, two dead teenagers who open their own detective agency that solves unexplained deaths. They are on the run from death so that they may remain ghosts and not move on to the after life, especially as due to a clerical error Edwin actually belongs in hell.
Things get interesting when Crystal joins the agency, for one she's alive, but she's also a psychic who's had her memory stolen by a demon and so she's employing the agency while being employed by them in order to even the score.
The show links in to the Neil Gaiman universe so hence there are links to The Sandman, Good Omens, and Doom Patrol, and I like all these, so it's a win win for me. But I truly am gutted to know it was cancelled considering it wasn't too bad.
I want to know what happened to Niko as it is clear she isn't dead, but clearly we will never know.
I loved the comradery between Charles and Edwin and the fact that Edwin having feelings for Charles didn't ruin that. Crystal did annoy me at times, but otherwise I think I got on with these characters really well. I liked the danger, the rivalry, the love triangles. Everyone was pretty fluid and I enjoyed that.
What really stood out for me was just how empowered the female characters were in this show. We had Jenny, the butcher, she was hardcore and she owned it, but she also had feelings that she wasn't massively afraid of, it was acting on them which held her back. Then we had Esther, the most badarse witch I've come across and her fashion sense was niche but cool. I liked the fact she was evil and didn't care, I liked the fact she came across like an empowering role model that no one should have. You couldn't help but want to be like her though, she dominated the screen whenever she was on with her raspy voice and pipe.
Then the whole other end of the spectrum you have Niko who is sweetness and light. She's gentle, she's sappy, but she balances the theme of the show so nicely so it isn't all doom and gloom. She's the light at the end of the tunnel which is so sorely needed as our boys keep being ripped away from each other.
What I loved about this show was its sense of adventure. It is so rare now for me to feel inspired by a show to go out there and be my weird self while seeing new things. A show like this makes me want to learn things, it makes me want to have an adventure and be social and free. It makes it look so easy. This is a gateway show for sure. And the fact it is technically a 'young adult show' makes me feel old as I'm slowly slipping past the age where these themes relate to me. I'm approaching Esther age..
I've missed Ruthie, anything with the old Supernatural cast in it has my vote and this was it.
So overall I'm giving Dead Boy Detectives a 7/10. I must admit, it was a little clunky in places, but I barely noticed because I was so gripped by the plot. Also this is one of the only shows where I don't press 'skip intro' because it captivates me. The intro for this show was brilliant.
I'm grateful for what we have, I just really hope that like Lucifer it gets picked up elsewhere.
Comments
Post a Comment